Filing for Divorce
Bringing You 50+ Years of Combined Divorce Experience
The dissolution of a marriage is never easy. With divorce comes the need to make decisions concerning every aspect of the family unit – decisions that can have long-term consequences far into the future. It can also bring with it a host of emotions ranging from anger and resentment to confusion, regret, and a sense of loss. Add to this the stress of having to navigate a complicated legal process and the uncertainty about how your divorce will ultimately affect your life.
With this in mind, you need the guidance and counsel of an attorney you can trust, preferably one who is experienced in handling all aspects of divorce. At the Law Firm of Johnson & Gaskill PLLC, you can work with Richmond divorce lawyers who have an established reputation and over 50 years of combined experience. Our firm offers diligent and reliable legal representation that emphasizes personalized service and takes a results-driven approach.
How Do I File for Divorce in Fort Bend County?
The state of Texas allows for both no-fault and fault-based divorce. No-fault divorce is based on the couple’s agreement that the marriage has irretrievably broken down. Fault is not assigned to either partner, which generally means there will not be an expensive, protracted, and stressful court battle. A no-fault divorce is a faster, more cost-effective, and a more peaceful way to end the marriage.
Fault-based divorces are based on the concept that a spouse has engaged in some kind of misconduct and caused the dissolution of the marriage. A judge may consider fault when making decisions, especially how marital property will be divided.
Grounds for divorce in Texas include:
- Cruel treatment
- Incarceration for a crime (at least three years)
- Admission into a mental hospital (for at least three years)
- Living separate and apart for at least three years
Addressing Every Aspect of Your Divorce
At the Law Firm of Johnson & Gaskill PLLC, we take pride in helping our clients resolve every issue involved in their divorce. We recognize the profound impact that these issues can have on your life and your family’s future, so we take great care in finding effective solutions.
During the divorce process, we can assist with:
Texas Divorce FAQs
Is there a residency requirement to file for divorce in Texas?
Yes, like most states, Texas does have a residency requirement that a couple must fulfill before they can file for divorce. The state requires that one spouse is a state resident for at least six months and a resident of the county where the divorce is going to be filed for at least ninety days.
Is there a waiting period?
While most divorces will take at least six months to one year or longer, there is a mandatory waiting period of 60 days after the divorce is filed. This means that a couple cannot get divorced sooner than 60 days after they have filed for divorce.
Does Texas have legal separation?
Texas family law courts do not offer legal separation. A couple can create a separation agreement, which would function as legal separation. However, the agreement is a contract that is not enforced by the family law courts. Instead, it can be enforced via a lawsuit, which can be a longer process.
Talk to a Richmond, TX Divorce Attorney about Your Case
Divorce is a challenging experience; having a knowledgeable attorney on your side can make all the difference in the outcome. The Law Firm of Johnson & Gaskill PLLC is dedicated to making your divorce as painless as possible and offers alternative dispute resolution methods such as mediation to help smooth the way. We service clients in Ford Bend, Brazoria and Galveston Counties as well.